Nestled on the south side of the James River, Smith's Fort Plantation offers a quiet refuge from the bustle of everyday life. Built sometime between 1751 and 1765, the story-and-a-half brick house is laid in Flemish bond and was home to Jacob Faulcon and his family. A gabled roof is accented with dormer windows. Its architectural significance lies in the interior where much of the original woodwork still exists. However, Smith's Fort had a long and varied history in Virginia.
Directly across from Jamestown on Gray's Creek, Smith's Fort offered a strategic location in the early seventeenth century. Later in that century, Chief Powhatan gave his new son-in-law, John Rolfe, a grant of land as a dowry gift on the occasion of his marriage to Pocahontas.
The APVA acquired Smith's Fort Plantation in 1933. It has been fully restored and has a fine collection of English and American furnishings. Today, visitors can see the site of the retreat fort, the house, and its small herb garden.
The interior of the house retains much of the original pine woodwork. The "Blue Room" holds a special charm with its chimney piece, fluted pilasters, cornice, arched cupboards with butterfly shelves, and paneling.
Captain John Smith's Fort
In 1609 Captain John Smith worried that an Indian attack or Spanish invasion might threaten the safety of the fort at Jamestown. Smith traveled to the southside of the James River where he and his men built a fort to serve as a retreat position.